

Advancing Peace through Literature

**DaytonLiteraryPeacePrize.org ()**/DaytonLiteraryPeacePrize **()**/DLPeacePrize P.O. Box 461 | Wright Brothers Branch | Dayton, Ohio 45409-0461

September 2, 2022

**PRESS RELEASE** 

For more information, contact:

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Nick Raines, Executive Director nick@daytonliterarypeaceprize.org

# SHARON RAB, DAYTON LITERARY PEACE PRIZE FOUNDER AND BOARD OF TRUSTEES PRESIDENT, TO BE INDUCTED INTO THE DAYTON REGION'S WALK OF FAME

**Dayton, Ohio** – The Dayton Literary Peace Prize (DLPP) Foundation is pleased to announce that Sharon Rab, DLPP Founder and Board of Trustees President, has been selected as one of the 2022 honorees into Dayton Region's Walk of Fame.

Honorees are recognized on the Dayton Region's Walk of Fame for their outstanding and enduring personal or professional contributions to the community, nation, and the world. Recipients are selected across a broad spectrum of categories, including arts and culture, aviation, business, education, invention, philanthropy, science, and sports. Annual honorees are selected by a slate of community leaders in conjunction with the Walk of Fame Organization and the Wright Dunbar Committee

In addition to Sharon Rab, the 2022 Dayton Region's Walk of Fame Class are Phyllis. G. Bolds (1932–2018), Neil Gittleman, Roger Glass (1942–2022), A.B. Graham (1868–1960) and Guided by Voices. Sharon and the other 2022 inductees will be honored at a luncheon on October 12, 2022, at Sinclair Community College. Friends of DLPP are encouraged to attend and can register below to support Sharon, the DLPP and Dayton Region's Walk of Fame.

https://secure.lglforms.com/form\_engine/s/oq85l1S9ttL1q741f0Q78A



Advancing Peace through Literature

**DaytonLiteraryPeacePrize.org** ()/DaytonLiteraryPeacePrize /DLPeacePrize P.O. Box 461 | Wright Brothers Branch | Dayton, Ohio 45409-0461

### Page 2/Rab Recognized

Since the award's inception in 1996, more than 190 people have been inducted into the Walk of Fame and include the Wright Brothers, Paul Lawrence Dunbar, Erma Bombeck, Marie Aull, Willis "Bing" Davis and Allison Janney to name a few. The Dayton Region's Walk of Fame is located along West Third Street between Shannon and Broadway Streets in the historic Wright-Dunbar Business District and can be enjoyed year-round.

### More about Sharon Rab

Sharon Rab, a writer and educator, is the founder of the DLPP, an international award known throughout the world for advancing peace through literature. She earned her BA in English at Miami University and Master of Education in Curriculum and Supervision at Wright State University and taught English at Kettering Fairmont High School, University of Dayton, and Miami University, Oxford. Rab was inducted into the Chester Roush Educational Hall of Fame, the Montgomery County Public Education Academy of Excellence, and the Fairborn Hall of Fame. She has served on numerous local, state, and national boards in the areas of arts, literature, and education, and currently serves on the Wright State University Foundation Board.

In addition to teaching, Rab also served as the Education Director for the Muse Machine. For 20 years, Rab produced and hosted *Writer 2 Writer*, a cable television show in which she interviewed hundreds of local, national, and international authors. In 2013, Rab gave a TEDx Dayton talk entitled "Words Matter." In 2007 she was named one of the Top Ten Women in Dayton, in 2018 a YWCA Woman of Influence, in 2019 she was presented the Cardinal Joseph Louis Bernardin Community Service Award, and in 2015 she was awarded an Honorary Doctorate of Humane Letters by Wright State University.

-MORE-



Advancing Peace through Literature

### Page 3/Rab Recognized

Rab was nominated for Dayton's Walk of Fame honors by long-time friend, Nancy Diggs. Diggs was a member of DLPP's advisory board and is the author of six books.

## About the Dayton Literary Peace Prize

The Dayton Literary Peace Prize honors writers whose work uses the power of literature to foster peace, social justice, and global understanding. Launched in 2006, it is recognized as one of the world's most prestigious literary honors and is the only literary peace prize awarded in the United States. As an offshoot of the Dayton Peace Prize, the Dayton Literary Peace Prize awards a \$10,000 cash prize each year to one fiction and one nonfiction author whose work advances peace as a solution to conflict and leads readers to a better understanding of other cultures, peoples, religions, and political points of view.

Additionally, the Ambassador Richard C. Holbrooke Distinguished Achievement Award is bestowed upon a writer whose body of work reflects the Prize's mission; previous honorees include Margaret Atwood, Wendell Berry, Taylor Branch, Geraldine Brooks, Louise Erdrich, John Irving, Barbara Kingsolver, Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn, N. Scott Momaday, Tim O'Brien, Marilynne Robinson, Gloria Steinem, Studs Terkel, Colm Tóibín, and Elie Wiesel. For more information visit the Dayton Literary Peace Prize media center at http://daytonliterarypeaceprize.org/press.htm.

- ###-