Contact:

Patrick Kowalczyk, <u>patrick@mkpr.com</u> Jenny Chang, <u>jenny@mkpr.com</u> MKPR, 212.627.8098

CELEBRATING THE POWER OF LITERATURE TO PROMOTE PEACE,

DAYTON LITERARY PEACE PRIZE ANNOUNCES CALL FOR ENTRIES

Submission Deadline for \$10,000 Award is May 3, 2008; Winners to be honored September 28th in Birthplace of Historic 1995 Dayton Peace Accords

http://www.daytonliterarypeaceprize.org

Dayton, OH (April 21, 2008) – Celebrating the power of literature to promote peace, The Dayton Literary Peace Prize announced today that it is seeking submissions for the fiction and nonfiction works published in 2007 that best promote the cause of peace.

America's only literary peace prize, The Dayton Literary Peace Prize recognizes writers whose work uses the power of literature to foster peace, social justice, and global understanding. Launched in 2006, it has already established itself as one of the world's most prestigious literary honors, and is the only international literary peace prize awarded in the United States.

Every year, the Prize awards \$10,000 each to an adult fiction author and an adult nonfiction author. A lifetime achievement award is also bestowed upon a writer whose body of work addresses themes of peace as a solution to conflict; previous honorees include Studs Terkel and Elie Wiesel. Last year's winners were Brad Kessler's *Birds In Fall* (Fiction Winner), Lisa Fugard's *Skinner's Drift* (Fiction Runner-up), Mark Kurlansky's *Nonviolence: Twenty-five Lessons From the History of a Dangerous Idea* (Nonfiction Winner) and Greg Mortenson and David Oliver Relin's *Three Cups of Tea: One Man's Mission to Promote Peace ... One School at a Time* (Nonfiction Runner-up)

"Our goal is to honor and support literature that prompts a larger discussion about how conflicts should best be resolved," said Sharon Rab, chair of the Dayton Literary Peace Prize. "In these increasingly violent times, we hope to remind the world that the pen truly is mightier than the sword, and that lasting peace can be achieved through dialogue."

The Dayton Literary Peace Prize was inspired by the Dayton Peace Prize commemorating the 1995 peace accords ending the war in Bosnia. Held in Dayton, the negotiations turned a global spotlight on the city, making it synonymous with the struggle for world peace. The Dayton Peace Prize has recognized such global peacemakers as Bishop Desmond Tutu, President Bill Clinton, George Soros, and Ambassador Richard Holbrooke.

Publishers may submit English-language books first published in 2007 for consideration for this year's Dayton Literary Peace Prize. Submissions may address the theme of peace on a variety of levels, such as between individuals, among families and communities, or among nations, religions, or ethnic groups. The submission deadline is May 3, 2008.

Finalists will be reviewed by an international panel of prominent writers including Gerald Early, Amy Hempel, Jane McCafferty and Katherine Vaz.

Winners of the 2008 Dayton Literary Peace Prize will be announced in August 2008 and honored at a ceremony hosted by award-winning journalist Nick Clooney in Dayton on September 28, 2008. The first runners-up for fiction and nonfiction will also attend, along with this year's lifetime achievement honoree.

Submissions may be sent to Sharon Rab at sharonrab@woh.rr.com or by mail at P.O. Box 461, Wright Brothers Branch, Dayton, OH 45409. Please see www.daytonliterarypeaceprize.org for more information about nomination process.

About the Dayton Literary Peace Prize

The Dayton Literary Peace Prize honors writers whose work uses the power of literature to foster peace, social justice, and global understanding. Launched in 2006, it has already established itself as one of the world's most prestigious literary honors, and is the only literary peace prize awarded in the United States. As an offshoot of the Dayton Peace Prize, the Dayton Literary Peace Prize awards a \$10,000 cash prize each year to one fiction and one nonfiction author whose work addresses themes of peace as a solution to conflict, and leads readers to a better understanding of other cultures, peoples, religions, and political points of view. An annual lifetime achievement award is also bestowed upon a writer whose body of work reflects the Prize's mission; previous honorees included Studs Terkel and Elie Wiesel.

###