Contact: Patrick Kowalczyk, <u>patrick@mkpr.com</u> Jenny Chang, <u>jenny@mkpr.com</u> MKPR, 212.627.8098

ELIE WIESEL RECOGNIZED FOR LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT

BY DAYTON LITERARY PEACE PRIZE COMMITTEE

Award will be presented at Schuster Center Ceremonies in Dayton, October 14th

www.daytonliterarypeaceprize.org

DAYTON, OH – (**APRIL 20, 2007**) - The Dayton Literary Peace Prize Committee has chosen to honor Nobel Laureate Elie Wiesel with this year's Lifetime Achievement Award. Wiesel, who has written more than forty internationally acclaimed works of fiction and nonfiction, will be present to receive the award in conjunction with the Dayton Literary Peace Prize Ceremonies on Sunday, October 14, 2007 at The Benjamin and Marion Schuster Center for the Performing Arts in Dayton, Ohio.

Professor Wiesel's 1958 memoir *La Nuit (Night)* chronicles his experiences in European concentration camps during World War II. *Night* has been read by millions and is included in school and college curricula globally. Wiesel was chosen because of his role as a literary and political spokesperson on behalf of Jews and other groups who have suffered persecution and death due to their religion, race, or national origin. He has been honored with the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the United States of America Congressional Gold Medal, the French Legion of Honor, and, in 1986, the Nobel Peace Prize. Since 1976, he has been the Andrew W. Mellon Professor in the Humanities at Boston University, where he also holds the title of University Professor.

"Professor Wiesel's voice has been heard in the literary community for nearly fifty years; it is an increasingly important one for us to hear today," said Sharon Rab at the announcement of the committee's decision. "His tremendous contribution to the world of letters is recognized globally. We are delighted and honored that he will be able to join us to receive this special Lifetime Achievement Award."

Dayton Literary Peace Prize is awarded annually to works of fiction and nonfiction that develop a theme of peace as a solution to conflict; each book's author receives an honorarium of \$10,000. A panel of international literary judges will convene this summer to make final recommendations about the works, which will have been nominated by their publishers and screened by over thirty local and national readers before they reach the final panel. All books must have a 2006 publication date. The writers of the winning books must be present to accept their awards.

Nominated books must focus on a central message of peace, broadly defined as increasing understanding, tolerance, and acceptance between and among people. The theme can be developed on any of several levels, including between individuals, families, communities, nations, ethnic groups, cultures, and religions. These nominated books must have significant and enduring literary value and appeal to a variety of audiences. They must be available in English.

Publishers may submit nominations for the Dayton Literary Peace Prize until May 15, 2007 to Dayton Literary Peace Prize Committee Chair Sharon Rab at <u>sharonrab@woh.rr.com</u> or by mail at P.O. Box 461, Wright Brothers Branch, Dayton, OH 45409. Please see www.daytonliterarypeaceprize.org for more information about nomination criteria.

The Dayton Literary Peace Prize was initiated in 2006 and is an outgrowth of the international recognition of negotiated conflict resolution on the highest international levels that have taken place in Dayton. In many circles, to "Dayton" a project is to bring people together to work out agreeable solutions to political problems through focused conversation. The Dayton Literary Peace Prize Committee sees literature as "an intimate conversation with strangers."

Legendary American writer and social historian Studs Terkel received the Lifetime Achievement Award in 2006. Last year's Dayton Literary Peace Prize winners were Francine Prose's *A Changed Man*₇ (fiction) and, Stephen Walker's *Shockwave* (nonfiction); runners-up were Kevin Haworth's *The Discontinuity of Small Things* (fiction) and Adam Hochschild's *Bury the Chains: Prophets and Rebels in the Fight to Free an Empire's Slaves* (nonfiction).

About the Dayton Literary Peace Prize

The Dayton Literary Peace Prize honors writers whose work uses the power of literature to foster peace, social justice, and global understanding. Launched in 2006, it has already established itself as one of the world's most prestigious literary honors, and is the only literary peace prize awarded in the United States. As an offshoot of the Dayton Peace Prize, the Dayton Literary Peace Prize awards a \$10,000 cash prize each year to one fiction and one nonfiction author whose work addresses themes of peace as a solution to conflict, and leads readers to a better understanding of other cultures, peoples, religions, and political points of view. An annual lifetime achievement award is also bestowed upon a writer whose body of work reflects the Prize's mission; previous honorees included Studs Terkel and Elie Wiesel.

###