## **Media Contacts:**

Patrick Kowalczyk, <u>patrick@pkpr.com</u> Jenny Chang, <u>jenny@pkpr.com</u> PKPR. 212.627.8098

## CELEBRATING THE POWER OF LITERATURE TO PROMOTE PEACE, DAYTON LITERARY PEACE PRIZE OPENS 2020 CALL FOR ENTRIES

Submission deadline is March 15, 2020; winners receive \$10,000, runners-up receive \$5,000

**Dayton, OH (January 27, 2020)** – The <u>Dayton Literary Peace Prize</u> today launched its call for submissions for outstanding fiction and nonfiction books published in 2019 that promote peace and nonviolent conflict resolution.

Inspired by the 1995 Dayton Peace Accords that ended the war in Bosnia, The Dayton Literary Peace Prize is the only international literary peace prize awarded in the United States. The Prize celebrates the power of literature to promote peace, social justice, and global understanding.

Past winners encompass a range of established and emerging writers, including Ta-Nehisi Coates, Hala Alyan, Karima Bennoune, Golnaz Hashemzadeh Bonde, Edwidge Danticat, Junot Diaz, Dave Eggers, Yaa Gyasi, Adam Hochschild, Marlon James, Adam Johnson, Andrew Krivak, Chang-Rae Lee, Viet Thanh Nguyen, Francine Prose, Wilbert Rideau, Eli Saslow, Bob Shacochis, Andrew Solomon, Susan Southard, Bryan Stevenson, and Josh Weil.

The Prize comes with a \$10,000 honorarium for nonfiction and fiction winners and a \$5,000 honorarium for runners-up. All honorees will be celebrated at a gala ceremony in Dayton on October 25, 2020.

To submit a book for consideration, see nomination form <a href="here">here</a>. The submission deadline is March 15, 2020. Finalists will be announced in August 2020.

Publishers may submit English-language books first published or translated in 2019 for consideration for the 2020 Dayton Literary Peace Prize. Submissions may address the theme of peace on a variety of levels, such as between individuals, among families and communities, or among nations, religions, or ethnic groups.

For the complete nomination guidelines and more information on the nomination process, see here.

## About the Dayton Literary Peace Prize

The Dayton Literary Peace Prize honors writers whose work uses the power of literature to foster peace, social justice, and global understanding. Launched in 2006, it is recognized as one of the world's most prestigious literary honors, and is the only literary peace prize awarded in the United States. Inspired by the Dayton Peace Accords, the Dayton Literary Peace Prize awards a \$10,000 cash prize each year to one fiction and one nonfiction author whose work advances peace as a solution to conflict, and leads readers to a better understanding of other cultures, peoples, religions, and political points of view. Additionally, the Ambassador Richard C. Holbrooke Distinguished Achievement Award is bestowed upon a writer whose body of work reflects the Prize's mission; previous honorees include Wendell Berry, Taylor Branch, Geraldine Brooks, Louise Erdrich, John Irving, Barbara Kingsolver, Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn, N. Scott Momaday, Tim O'Brien, Marilynne Robinson, Gloria Steinem, Studs Terkel, Colm Tóibín, and Elie Wiesel. For more information visit the Dayton Literary Peace Prize media center at http://daytonliterarypeaceprize.org/press.htm.