For information contact:

Emily Kretzer emilykdlpp@gmail.com

Mark Meister Mark.Meister@daytonliterarypeaceprize.org

Sharon Rab sharonrab@woh.rr.com

DAYTON LITERARY PEACE PRIZE ANNOUNCES A SPECIAL EVENING TO HONOR 2018 NONFICTION AWARD-WINNER TA-NEHISI COATES

Dayton, OH (March 1, 2019) – Ta-Nehisi Coates, the winner of the 2018 Dayton Literary Peace Prize (DLPP) for Nonfiction for *We Were Eight Years in Power*, will receive his award at a special ceremony to take place at 7:00 p.m., on March 21 at the new Kettering Fairmont High School Auditorium. Due to illness, Coates was unable to attend the DLPP awards ceremony last October.

Ta-Nehisi Coates is a distinguished writer in residence at NYU's Arthur L. Carter Journalism Institute. In addition to *We Were Eight Years in Power*, he is the author of the bestselling books *The Beautiful Struggle* and *Between the World and Me*, which won the National Book Award in 2015. Coates is a recipient of a MacArthur Fellowship, and he is also the current author of the Marvel comics *The Black Panther* and *Captain America*.

We Were Eight Years in Power, was described in Kirkus Reviews as "Biting cultural and political analysis...reflects on race, Barack Obama's presidency and its jarring aftermath, and [Coates'] own evolution as a writer in eight stunningly incisive essays."

Gilbert King, author of the Pulitzer Prize-winning book, *Devil in the Grove: Thurgood Marshall, the Groveland Boys, and the Dawn of a New America* (the 2013 DLPP Nonfiction Runner-up), and member of the DLPP Honorary Advisory Committee, will serve as the evening's Master of Ceremonies. David Wood, DLPP 2017 Nonfiction Winner for *What Have We Done*, will present the citation for the award, to be followed by Coates's acceptance remarks and a moderated discussion hosted by Devon Berry, Director of Human Resources, West Carrollton City Schools, and Shannon Isom, President and CEO, YWCA Dayton.

Tickets are free, but they must be reserved by going to www.daytonliterarypeaceprize.org. Kettering Fairmont High School is located at 3301 Shroyer Road, Kettering.

About the Dayton Literary Peace Prize

The Dayton Literary Peace Prize honors writers whose work uses the power of literature to foster peace, social justice, and global understanding. Launched in 2006, the Dayton Literary Peace Prize is recognized as one of the world's most prestigious literary honors, and is the only literary peace prize awarded in the United States. As an offshoot of the Dayton Peace Prize, the Dayton Literary Peace Prize awards a \$10,000 cash prize each year to one fiction and one nonfiction author whose work advances peace as a solution to conflict, and leads readers to a better understanding of other cultures, peoples, religions, and political points of view. Additionally, The Ambassador Richard C. Holbrooke Distinguished Achievement Award is bestowed upon a writer whose body of work reflects the Prize's mission; previous honorees include Wendell Berry, Taylor Branch, Geraldine Brooks, Louise Erdrich, John Irving, Barbara Kingsolver, Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn, Tim O'Brien, Marilynne Robinson, Gloria Steinem, Studs Terkel, Colm Tóibín and Elie Wiesel. For more information visit the Dayton Literary Peace Prize media center at http://daytonliterarypeaceprize.org/press.htm.