Patrick Kowalczyk, <u>patrick@pkpr.com</u> Jenny Chang, <u>jenny@pkpr.com</u> PKPR, 212.627.8098

For Twitter: Dayton Literary Peace Prize accepting submissions for 2014 until 3/31 <u>http://tinyurl.com/jwgwv64</u> via @dlpeaceprize

CELEBRATING THE POWER OF LITERATURE TO PROMOTE PEACE,

DAYTON LITERARY PEACE PRIZE OPENS 2014 CALL FOR ENTRIES

Submission Deadline for \$10,000 Awards is March 31st

Dayton, OH (February 3, 2014) – The Dayton Literary Peace Prize today launched its call for submissions for outstanding fiction and nonfiction books published in 2013 that promote peace and non-violent conflict resolution.

Inspired by the 1995 Dayton Peace Accords that ended the war in Bosnia, The Dayton Literary Peace Prize celebrates the power of literature to promote peace and global understanding and is the only international literary peace prize awarded in the United States. Past winners encompass a range of established and emerging writers, including Edwidge Danticat, Junot Diaz, Dave Eggers, Adam Hochschild, Marlon James, Adam Johnson, Andrew Krivak, Chang-Rae Lee, Francine Prose, Wilbert Rideau, and Andrew Solomon.

Nonfiction and fiction winners receive a \$10,000 honorarium and will be honored at a gala ceremony in Dayton on November 9, 2014. To submit a book for consideration, please visit <u>http://daytonliterarypeaceprize.org/2014-guidelines.htm</u>. The submission deadline is March 31st, 2014. Finalists will be announced in August 2014.

Publishers may submit English-language books first published or translated in 2013 for consideration for the 2014 Dayton Literary Peace Prize. Submissions may address the theme of peace on a variety of levels, such as between individuals, among families and communities, or among nations, religions, or ethnic groups.

For the complete nomination guidelines and more information on the nomination process, go to <u>www.daytonliterarypeaceprize.org</u>. Submissions may be sent to Sharon Rab at <u>sharonrab@woh.rr.com</u> or by mail to P.O. Box 461, Wright Brothers Branch, Dayton, OH 45409-0461.

About the Dayton Literary Peace Prize

The Dayton Literary Peace Prize honors writers whose work uses the power of literature to foster peace, social justice, and global understanding. Launched in 2006, it has already established itself as one of the world's most prestigious literary honors, and is the only literary peace prize awarded in the United States. As an offshoot of the Dayton Peace Prize, the Dayton Literary Peace Prize awards a \$10,000 cash prize each year to one fiction and one nonfiction author whose work advances peace as a solution to conflict, and leads readers to a better understanding of other cultures, peoples, religions, and political points of view. Additionally, the Richard C. Holbrooke Distinguished Achievement Award is bestowed upon a writer whose body of work reflects the Prize's mission; previous honorees include Wendell Berry, Taylor Branch, Geraldine Brooks, Barbara Kingsolver, Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn, Tim O'Brien, Studs Terkel, and Elie Wiesel.