We invite you to subscribe
to our newsletter:

(See our newsletter archive.)

Click to subscribe!

Sample DLPP Newsletter

See Videos of the 2018
Winners' Acceptance Speeches!

See winners' acceptance speeches

Click the photos or watch the entire event.

See remarks by Kati Marton.

Watch the Author's Reception.

Watch a Conversation with the Authors.

2018 Finalist Judges

Read about our judges

Read about our judges

Read about our judges

Read about our judges


(Click here to read the judges' bios.)

    2018 Award Winners

Click authors' names for more information.

John Irving
Ambassador Richard C.
Holbrooke Award Winner
for Lifetime Achievement

John Irving

More info...
Fiction Winner

Hala Alyan
Salt Houses

More info...
Nonfiction Winner

Ta-Nehisi Coates
We Were Eight Years in Power
(One World PRH)

More info...
Fiction Runner-up

Min Jin Lee
(Grand Central)

More info...
Nonfiction Runner-up

Michelle Kuo
Reading with Patrick
(Random House)

Visit CORE Scholar See a complete bibliography and short history of the Dayton Literary Peace Prize on the website of CORE Scholar, an institutional repository sponsored by Wright State University Libraries. CORE Scholar collects and makes available the scholarly output of WSU faculty, staff, and students as well as local, regional, and WSU heritage material.

Slideshow of the 2018 Awards Dinner

                                        Photos by Andy Snow (andysnow.com) ©2018.

The 2018 Awards Ceremony was held at 5:00 pm on Sunday, October 28th, 2018, at the Benjamin and Marian Schuster Performing Arts Center at One West Second Street in Dayton, Ohio. Wil Haygood was the Master of Ceremonies.

The Holbrooke Society

Introducing DLPP’s new annual giving society — The Holbrooke Society of the Dayton Literary Peace Prize. Members of the society support the long-term sustainability of the DLPP. They also foster the growth of new initiatives and programs that spread peace internationally through the written word, such as new curricula in peace literature for high school and university students.

Click to learn more

Fly with the Doves Book Circle

Help spread peace through the written word by joining DLPP’s Fly with the Doves Book Circle Membership Program.

By joining and supporting this program you will help DLPP share the winning and nominated books with schools and universities so educators can incorporate them into their curricula and into their libraries.

For every $25 you contribute when you join, a book will be donated — plus, as a member you will be listed as one of our Doves on our Dove Members page and in the event program.

Click to learn more

Notable Articles, Videos, and Events

(View our complete Event Calendar.)

Community Conversations

Join area scholars and community readers at the Dayton MetroLibrary this fall for wide ranging conversations about books written by authors honored by the Dayton Literary Peace Prize. Discussions will address the works’ impact and artistry, essential themes, and connections to the authors’ other work, and the power of the written word to promote peace. Learn more.
Click to learn more
Radio Interview with DLPP Prize Winner

Pulitzer-winning author Gilbert King, 2013 runner-up for the nonfiction award for his book, The Devil in the Grove, describes his latest book, Beneath a Ruthless Sun, in an interview with Vick Mickunas, host of WYSO's "Book Nook" program. Listen to the interview.
Click to listen to interview
Wil Haygood Receives Miami University President's Medal

DLPP 2016 Master of Ceremonies Wil Haygood received The Miami University President's Medal and as the keynote speaker at Convocation 2018 he provided a message of hope and respect to Miami University's Class of 2022. He asked the class to “exude civility” and to respect each other.
Learn more.
Click to learn more

View previous articles, videos, and events

Contact us now about
sponsoring the 2019 awards!

Click here to make a donation!

Follow us on Facebook Twitter

Implementation and ongoing support by Digital Stationery International, LLC